West Hills Elementary School Wolf Pack Foundation is dedicated to supporting and enhancing the academic, creative, social, and emotional needs of the West Hills Elementary School community through fundraising and partnering with local stakeholders. 

History of WHES

In 1955, the rapidly growing population in West Knox County and the overcrowding of Bearden Elementary School made it necessary to add an additional elementary school to meet the community’s educational needs. The planning for the construction of West Hills Elementary School began with the retention of Barber and McMurry architectural firm in 1957. Construction of the new West Hills Elementary School was completed in 1958 with the school accommodating grades one through eight.

In 1964, four classrooms were added to each end of the school. In 1969, seventh and eighth grade students were transferred from West Hills to Bearden Junior High. Then, in 1979, the sixth grade was moved to Bearden Middle School as part of a middle school reorganization plan. Initially a part of the Knoxville City School System, in 1987 West Hills Elementary School was incorporated into the Knox County System when the city officials elected to cease operation of a school system. The area continued to experience growth, and in 1988 West Hills Elementary School was enlarged and completely renovated. Although this latest expansion and renovation still serves the current population, four additional portable classrooms were added in 2000 to accommodate a population increase of almost 130 students during a single year.

In 2005 Amherst Elementary School opened and through rezoning, thirty-one of West Hills’ students were moved to Amherst Elementary School. Currently, West Hills Elementary is a school of almost 800 students in grades PreK-5. West Hills Elementary School is located off Interstate 40 West in the West Hills Community and inside the city limits of Knoxville, Tennessee. The school zone covers a wide and diverse area with an inclusion of subsidized housing, apartments, and subdivision residences.

WHES Wolfpack Foundation Board members

Shannon Reynolds


Jessica Williamson,
Lauren Ray Wagner

Marketing, Community Relations,
& Graphics

Elizabeth Evola


Kristen Jackson

Ex-Officio Director
WHES Principal

William Bennett

Ex-Officio Director
WHES Teacher Representative

Elisa Thiele


Amanda Paletz,
Lizzie Fleming

Ex-Officio Directors
WHES PTA Co-Presidents

Interested in Helping? Join Us!

We are always looking for community members to be a part of the Foundation. We have multiple opportunities to get involved.